FES | Federación Española de Sociología

The Holberg Prize 2015

Call for nomination to the Holberg Prize 2015

The Holberg Board is inviting nominations for the Holberg Prize for outstanding scholarly work in the academic fields of the arts and humanities, social science, law and theology.

The Holberg Prize is awarded to scholars who have had a decisive influence on international research.

The Holberg Prize amounts to NOK 4,5 million (approximately €538,000/$735,000*). 

The nomination deadline is June 15 2014.

How to nominate? Scholars holding positions at universities and other research institutions, including academies, are entitled to nominate candidates to the Holberg Prize.

The letter of nomination should be written in English and state the reason for the nomination in 2 to 3 pages. The nomination should also include the candidate’s CV and suggest referees who know the scholar´s work. The winner of the Holberg Prize 2015 will be announced in February 2015.

The official award ceremony will take place in Bergen, Norway in June 2015.

More information about how to nominate: http://www.holbergprisen.no/en/nomination_2015.html 

If you have questions, please do not hesitate to contact Ms Solveig Stornes, Project Manager Holberg Prize: solveig.stornes@holbergprisen.no

Yours Sincerely, Professor Sigmund Grønmo

Chair of The Holberg Board

* Currency rates may change. Present rates from January 2014.

Holberg Prize 2014: Michael Cook

Michael Cook (born in 1940) is a British historian and scholar of Islamic history. He is one of today’s leading experts on the history and religious thought of Islam.

Michael Cook is University Professor of Near Eastern Studies at Princeton University.

Future Holberg Prize events:

03.06.2014: Holberg Prize Symposium

04.06.2014: Award Ceremony Holberg Prize

Our mailing address is:

Holberg Prize

Muséplassen 2, Bergen, Norge. Bergen, Hordaland 5007. Norway

Add us to your address book